pumpkin pie fruit roll ups

This was fun fruit leather. Super easy, and the kids dug it big time.  The original recipe came here, at Food for my Family.

2 cups applesauce

1 cup pure pack pumpkin puree

3 T honey

1/2 t cinnamon

1/4 t nugmet

1/4 t allspice

I put everything in a pot and let it cook for about 5 minutes. I was using applesauce I’d made and canned earlier, and we make it pretty smooth.  If your mixture isn’t too smooth, I’d run an immersion blender in the pot, or blend the applesauce first for a more smooth texture.
I liked a sheet pan with foil and sprayed it with cooking spray, then spread the puree evenly on the foil.  
I baked it for 7 1/2 hours at 170 degrees, and had Nathan take it out of the oven without my checking it first. I was worried it was overdone since the original directions called for 150 degrees for 8 hours. My oven only goes as low as 170, so I was worried that the same amount of time would be too long at the higher temp.
The fruit leather was perfect on the outsides and not done in the middle, even though I thought I’d spread it carefully with my offset spatula. If that happens to you, too, just peel off the finished parts and stick the pan back in until the whole thing is done.  It sould feel slightly sticky but not gummy or soft.  
Cool it and cut into strips. My kids devoured it but you might want to roll yours around plastic wrap before storing it in something airtight.
Yum.

Leave a comment