chicken cordon bleu cassrole

This is going to be a lame, pictureless post for all of you, but I’m writing it down so I can remember to put it in my recipe binder.

I pinned a recipe for Chicken Cordon Bleu casserole and Sunday when we wanted chicken cordon bleu (but I didn’t want to do the work) I remembered the recipe. Looked it up: it was kind of complicated. I was looking for help in being…lazy. Googled, found a few more, but they all had substitutes for cream of chicken soup or fancy toppings. Blah.

We just pounded down some chicken breasts and put them in a baking dish. Topped with cheese (I had mozz, I’d use swiss if I had it). Topped with Canadian bacon since we didn’t have ‘real’ ham. Mixed up 1 can of cream of chicken soup and maybe a cup of sour cream, then poured about half or a bit more than half of that on top of the bacon. Then I had bread crumbs in the freezer. I melted a few tablespoons butter, and threw into that some dried onion, some of Paula Deen’s House Seasoning I had in a bag leftover from something else, and 2 cups of bread crumbs.  Stir.  Put that on top of the the sauce.  Cover with foil. We baked it for an hour.

NEXT TIME: I’d leave off the bread crumbs until the last 20 minutes or so, they got a bit over-browned on the edges.

Yum.

OH MY GOSH: I just had a thought: I bet that would be easy to do in the CROCK POT!! Boo ya.

2 thoughts on “chicken cordon bleu cassrole

  1. Pingback: The freezer meals post… | Julie Cooks

Leave a Reply

