Julie Jackson’s 1 hour cinnamon rolls

In the cinnamon roll Olympics, I give these silver, and only because I’ve been converted to Tracy M’s sinful cinnamon rolls.  These are really very good and who can beat a 1 hour cinnamon roll, really now?  Julie has made these for several get togethers I’ve been to, sometimes as cinnamon rolls, sometimes as strawberry cream cheese rolls.  They’re all super good.  She uses lecithin (and says it’s insanely sticky if you have the liquid version, so don’t really measure it, just throw in several ‘blobs’) – but I’ve never bought lecithin.  I use regular old vegetable oil. Last note: Bosch lovers can double the recipe.

5 1/4 flour (bread flour, if possible)
1/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 heaping Tbsp instant yeast
2 T oil (or 1 1/2 T lecithin)
2 cups hot water

I throw all the ingredients in my mixer and you’re supposed to mix for about 5 minutes (use the dough hook). Dough will be very sticky.

From Julie J (including her finishing touches): I spray Pam on the counter to roll it out (put some on your hands too, to get it out of the bowl).  Roll it out in a rectangle and spread about 1/3 cup softened butter on the dough.  Put brown sugar everywhere and then sprinkle cinnamon everywhere (I don’t measure those).  Roll it up and cut it apart with dental floss.  Let rise 25 minutes.  Bake at 350 for 15 minutes. (Julie P’s note: I might’ve cut mine bigger…both times they took closer to 23-25 minutes.)  This recipe  makes a jelly roll sized pan (about 16-18 generous sized rolls).

Frosting
1/4 cup softened butter
1/2 tsp vanilla
2 tsp water
2 cups powdered sugar
Cream Cheese filling
4 oz softened cream cheese
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
I just put in a spoonful of jam, but I usually make a braid out of the dough and put the cream cheese filling in the middle with pie filling and frosting on top.  Super yum!  I love this bread recipe because it only has to raise once and so I can make bread in about an hour.  I use the dough for pizza, rolls, bread everything
One thought on “Julie Jackson’s 1 hour cinnamon rolls

  1. Amanda D

    Sounds good! I love cinnamon rolls. Real Mom Kitchen has a 45-minute cinnamon roll recipe that is pretty good but it takes about an hour not 45 minutes. :) I have used lecithin in bread but it seems like I have a powdered version. Thanks for the recipe! I’ll be trying it, I think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

