Raspberry White Chocolate Bread Pudding

I should be arrested by a dietician for feeding this to my family…especially for breakfast.  The original picture I found made it look like a great Danish, and I was thinking about Thanksgiving breakfast so I thought “WHY NOT”.  Warning: the recipe as written is very sweet and next time I’m planning on trying just 1 cup of sugar in the custard, but won’t update with that measurement until I try it myself. I did put the notes of the things I used or substituted below.

The original picture is better than mine, so here it is…

The recipe came from Melanie at Sugar Doodle.

6 large French croissants (I used 12 small)
4 egg yolks plus 3 whole eggs
2 1/2 cups heavy cream*
1/2 cup milk*
2 cups big white chocolate chunks (or chips) (I used the chips)
1 cup good quality dried cherries or craisins or fresh raspberries work great too (I used frozen cherries)
1 Tbsp. vanilla
1 1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt
Butter or PAM to coat baking dish
Raw sugar to sprinkle on top

*I omitted the heavy cream and milk and instead used 3 cups of fat free half and half

1 – Cut croissants on an angle (1-inch slices) and place in the bottom of a buttered 9×13 baking dish.
2 –
Add the chocolate pieces and cherries on top of the croissants.
3 – Mix together the yolks and whole eggs, cream, milk, vanilla, sugar, and salt.
4 –
Pour mixture over the croissants, pushing them down until all the liquid is absorbed into the bread pieces. There will be lots of liquid.
5 –
Sprinkle raw sugar on top.
6 –
Bake at 300-350° (depending on your oven) for 30-40 minutes.

This dessert should remain very soft and moist. Start checking after 30 minutes. (Mine took 45ish minutes.) Filling should be soft-set, but not dry. Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

