Roasted Chickpeas

Found this recipe on a new to me blog, Food, Wine and ModPodge. Josh could eat 7 full meals a day, but since I don’t have cooking and cleaning up after 7 meals a day in me, he snacks a lot. And he loves salty and crunchy the best; think popcorn, tater tots, chips and fries.  I thought this would be a good, healthier alternative. He thought they were fair, but I don’t think I initially dried the beans enough, so they might’ve been more tantalizing to him if they were crunchier.  I thought they were a great little snack with a protein punch.  I didn’t take any pictures, so here is Katie’s picture her finished recipe.

If you want a step by step photo tutorial, hop on over there.

Rinse 1 can of chickpeas (or garbanzo beans – same thing) well in a strainer, and pat very dry with towels.  The dryer your beans are, the crunchier they will be at the very end.  Toss them in a bowl with a bit of olive oil and whatever seasonings you’re in the mood for.  Katie used paprika, cayenne and sea salt.  We used sea salt, paprika, adobo seasoning (one of my go-to seasonings from Penzys) and cumin.

Put the beans in a single layer in a baking dish, and place them in an oven preheated to 400.  Toss them every 10 minutes, and leave them in for about 40 minutes.

Leave a Reply

