Pumpkin Pie Cinnamon Rolls

Whoops, I forgot to take a picture.  While they were baking, I was wondering if I should’ve used all AP flour instead of the some AP and some whole wheat that the recipe called for, but they really were great.  If you don’t have access to fresh ground whole wheat flour, I’d probably use all AP flour.  This was a killer easy recipe as far as cinnamon rolls go, and they were pretty great.
1 cup canned pumpkin
2 large eggs
2 T to 1/4 cup (or a bit more) water, lukewarm
1/4 cup butter, softened
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 3/4 c whole wheat flour
1/4 c dry milk
1 t ground cinnamon
1/2 t groung ginger
1/4 t ground cloves
3 T brown sugar
1 1/2 t salt
2 t instant yeast
Mix everything to combine well.  Dough might be pretty sticky and that’s fine.  It just needs to hold its shape.
For the water, I used 1/4 cup PLUS 2 T. We’re in a really dry area. If you’re in a more humid place, you’ll use less.  Start with less and add slowly.
Place dough in lightly greased bowl and let rise 90 minutes.  It won’t rise much, and will NOT double. It might look puffy.
Roll into rectangle that is 14″x22″.  The dough will be really thin.
Combine 1 cup sugar and 1 1/2 – 2T cinnamon.  Wet the dough with a bit of milk and sprinkle on the cinnamon sugar.
Starting at one short end, roll the dough tightly into a log.  Seal closed.  Original directions said cut into 9 rolls, I did 12 and they were decent sized.
Place rolls in a greased pan (my 12 rolls fit perfectly into a 9×13 pan, directions say to use a 9″ square for the 9).
Let rise for 1 hour. Will be a bit puffy.  Bake for 25-30 minutes at 375.  Cool about 15 minutes.  Frost with cream cheese frosting.
2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Amanda D

    I made these last night — I mixed the dough, let it raise, rolled it out and let them slow rise in the fridge overnight. This morning we baked them and enjoyed them. These were SO good. A great fall treat.

    I used 1 TBSP yeast and they rose really well. I used a little more flour too, that way they weren’t so sticky. I also cut them into 12 rolls and my 9×13″ pan was full.

    I’m doing WW and point wise with out icing they were 4.5 points each. Icing added 2.5 points. So worth it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

