Cake Mix Extender

I need to take cupcakes to Jacob’s class tomorrow, and I know a box is going to get us 24 perfectly sized cupcakes.  I need 30, but didn’t want to make 2 boxes* worth of mix and have leftovers.  Thankfully I remembered about cake mix extenders from my cake decorating days.   In a bowl, I’ll throw the cake mix and everything the box calls for, and then I’ll add:

1 cup flour
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup oil
2/3 c water
1 t baking powder

And then cook per directions on the box.  Ta. Da.

There are fancier extender recipes, but this is basic and perfect for a class of kids.  (For example, if I was making a cake  for anyone besides a class of kindergarten kids, I’d use the one with sour cream.  But then again, I’d not use a plain box mix for anyone else, either!)

One thought on “Cake Mix Extender

Leave a Reply

