Beans and Cornbread Dinner

I was inspired by the recipe in Pioneer Woman’s new cookbook (also on her blog here) to make this for dinner Monday.  Except I didn’t make her cornbread recipe; I used the Marie Callender’s mix.  And I didn’t use her spices for the beans, I used Melanie’s.  And dinner was great.  We topped the beans with cheese, avocado, salsa and sour cream.  This is a cheap, healthy easy dinner.  I can’t believe I’ve just discovered it.

Beans:

I took 3 cups of beans and washed them well before putting them in a big pot and covering them with water (about 2″ above the beans).  Then I covered the pot and let the beans simmer all afternoon, adding water if needed.  Right before serving, I added 3 tsp EACH chili powder, salt, and onion powder, 1 1/2 t paprika, and 3/4 teaspoons EACH cumin and garlic powder.  Stir it up well, slop it into bowls and top it with whatever you’d put on chili.

2 thoughts on “Beans and Cornbread Dinner

  1. J. Soine

    Julie, I am bored! Could you make another post please! I am waiting!

    Grandma D! AKA Shanelle’s dad’s wife Doreen!

    Reply
  2. discovery

    At this time it seems like Movable Type is the preferred blogging platform
    available right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

