Apple Cider Syrup

Oh, friends.  This is heaven.  Heaven heaven heaven.  We made if for breakfast this morning and oh my goodness.  This is going to be a fall staple in our house now.  It tastes like you’re eating an apple pie, minus the apples and crust.  We used it on waffles, but have plans to use it as an ice cream topping, and who knows what else.  SO GOOD.  Thank you Melanie at Sisters Cafe for the recipe.  She also has a pumpkin pancake recipe on the same post that I think it would be fabulous paired with.

3/4 Cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 TBs cornstarch
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
2 cups fresh apple cider (or juice would work)
1 Tbs fresh lemon juice
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup butter

Mix sugars, cornstarch, cinnamon and nutmeg well. Add apple cider, vanilla and lemon juice. Bring to a boil and continue boiling for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and stir in butter. Store leftovers in the refrigerator, use within a week or two.

1 thought on “Apple Cider Syrup

  1. Valerie

    I’ve seen this recipe before at Sister’s Cafe, but haven’t made it yet. I even have it in my to-try file. Now that I have another rave review of it, I need to try it!!

    Reply

Leave a comment