The Essential Soft Oatmeal Cookie

This. Is. IT.  I’m on a cookie thing and I think I’ve found THE cookie cookboox – The King Arthur Flour Cookie Companion.  And this is their Essential Soft Oatmeal Cookie.  It is pretty close to perfect.

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
2 T vegetable oil
1 cup brown sugar (lightly packed)
1 large egg
6 T sour cream or yogurt (regular or lowfat, NOT fat free)
2 t vanilla extract
1 cup currants or raisins (optional)
2 cups rolled oats
1/2 t baking soda
1/2 t cinnamon
1/2 t salt
1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts (optional)

Cream butter, oil and sugar.  Add egg, mix, beat in sour cream and vinall, mix.  Stir in raisins (if you’re using them) and oats.  Mix.

Add baking soda, cinnamon, salt and mix.  Add flour and mix.  Add nuts and mix.

I just realized the directions said to let the dough rest for 15-30 minutes.  I didn’t do it.  The cookies turned out just fine.

Drop dough with cookie scoop (that holds a scant 2 T of dough) onto greased baking sheets.  Bake for 12-14 minutes at 350 until cookies are lightly browned.  Remove from oven and transfer to rack to cool.

Recipe says this will yield 45 cookies, but I made 1/2 the recipe with the recommended scoop size and got 15 cookies, which would mean I would have gotten 30 from a full recipe.  So…there you go.

Really, these are soft.  And just so good.

Leave a comment