French Bread

Just perfect – soft inside, crusty outside.  Makes two large loaves, the whole thing with the egg is optional (I don’t do it).

2 1/2 cups warm water
2 T sugar
2 T dry yeast
1 T salt
2 T oil
6 cups flour
1 egg, beaten (optional)

In a large bowl (I put the dough hook on my kitchen aid for this), combine water, sugar and yeast.  Let stand for about 5 minutes or until bubbly.  stir in salt, oil and 3 cups of the flour.  Stir vigorously.  Add remaining 3 cups of flour and mix well.  Let stand 10 minutes.  Stir down (I turned the mixer on medium high for about 10 seconds or less).  Repeat this process 5 times, which will take 1 hour.  Place dough onto a very lightly floured board, and knead only enough to coat dough with flour so it can be handled (for me it hardly took any extra flour); divide dough in half.  Roll each section into a rectangle, about 9X12″ long.  Roll up from the long side.  Moisten seam with small amount of water and pinch to seal.  Arrange both loaves lengthwise on a large, well-greased cookie sheet.  Place seam side down.   Cover and let rise 30-45 minutes.

Glaze with beaten egg (optional).  use a very sharp knife to gently make 3 diagonal slashes in the top of each loaf.

Bake at 375 for 25-30 minuets.  Remove to a rack, cover with a towel (which keeps the crust softer), and serve warm.

from The Essential Mormon Cookbook
2 thoughts on “French Bread

  1. justbarefoot

    I thought I already commented on this, no? I can’t wait to try this! We do bread of some sort every night, and I have to admit, I’m getting bored with Rhodes, and the bake ‘n serve is getting spendy. So thanks for posting this! I hope I can get it to turn out… ;)

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Baked Peach French Toast « Julie Cooks!

Leave a Reply

