Oreo Truffles

I got this one from the Kraft Foods website. Nathan says they’re much better than what you’d get at an expensive chocolate store. Hey – if this is all it takes to keep him happy, I’m a very lucky woman.

1 pkg Oreo cookies

8 oz cream cheese, softened

16 oz semi-sweet chocolate, melted

Take all but 9 cookies and grind finely (in blender is best). Put into a bowl with the cream cheese and mix well. Divide into 42 balls, about 1″ each. Melt the chocolate, and dip each ball in the chocolate. Put on a cookie sheet covered with wax or parchment paper. Finely crush the remaning 9 cookies, and sprinkle the crumbs on the chocolate covered balls; refrigerate 1 hour. Store, covered, in the fridge.

Picture of some candy-making tools that might make dipping the truffles (without leaving a mark) easier:

I bought mine super cheap on clearance from Gooseberry Patch about a year ago, and I’m sure you could find them in Bed, Bath, & Beyond, any good cooking store like Williams Sonoma, and probably even Target.  The round one is used for the dipping, and points down like a cone.  I use the others for “pushing” the truffles off.

 
5 thoughts on “Oreo Truffles

  1. bek

    is this missing a part… the picture showes them covered in chocolate and I didn’t see chocolate in the recipie…. these look great!!!

    Reply
  2. Kim

    I meade these yesterday. A few people came over last night and I served them. I got the last two this morning. They all loved them. Only problem I had was dipping them, I left marks where I tried to slid them off the fork. Any ideas on an easy way to dip them?

    Reply
  3. Julie Post author

    Hi Kim. I will edit the above post with the pictures of candy making tools I’ve got that make it a lot easier. The round tool is used for dipping, and the “pitchfork” looking tools help you slide the truffle off without really leaving a mark.

    Reply
  4. Honey

    I made such a mess with grinding the cookies. How do you make that easy?
    I did not see or could not find the candy tools on Gooseberry Patch. I would like to order some. I looked online at Target and BB&B/nope.
    My husband really likes these and I would like to learn to make them without all the muss and hard time dipping neatly.
    Help ME Please!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

