Best Sugar Cookies

Ok, I was looking for this again today, so I need to post it so it doesn’t get lost. I found this recipe on designmom in October? September? and it’s the BEST sugar cookie recipe ever. They come out perfectly soft.

2 c. sugar
1 c. butter
1 c. milk
2 eggs
7 c. flour
1 tsp. salt
2 tsp. baking soda
4 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. vanilla

Chill until very cold and hard in the fridge.  Preheat oven to 375-400 degrees.  I have the best luck when I set the dough out for about 5-10 minutes before I roll it.  Roll out to about 1/4 inch thick on floured surface.  Bake for 5-6 minutes (on greased cookie sheet) until very pale.  Do not over cook – the cookies are done when you touch them and they seem just slightly firm.  Let them cool on the baking sheet 1-2 minutes before putting them on a wire rack to cool completely.  

One thought on “Best Sugar Cookies

  1. bek

    Julie, I made these too and they are the first time I have made sugar cookies that turned out well.

    I have a really wonderful gingerbread man recipie that tastes good, is fun to make and stays soft. It also doesn’t require chilling. I have a bunch of fun Christmas goodies to post when I get home……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

