Breakfast Casserole

As always….I type the recipe as printed and then add my comments in another color afterward. I find that the way that I like  things isn’t the way that others do.  This was really good and easy.  I can see this becoming a holiday tradition.  Remember that it must be made the night before you serve it.

8 slices cubed bread (I used heavy artisan bread, this could explain why it was a bit dry. If you use bread that isn’t basic white “wonder” bread, increase the milk/egg combo).

24 ounces sausage (I used only 12 and it wasn’t enough..you could easily do this wil bacon or ham)

1 package frozen hash browns

2 c grated cheddar cheese (I used less, it would also be great with a nutty cheese like Gruyere and mozzarella combined)

8 eggs

2 1/4 cups milk

3/4 tsp dry mustard

1 can cream of mushroom soup (I used cream of chicken..)

1/2 c. milk (I would increase this to 3/4 cup next time..it was pretty thick still)

salt, pepper, garlic

Spray bottom of 9X13 pan and cover bottom with the cubed bread and sausage mixed together.  Top with a layer of hashbrowns and a layer of cheese.  Whip eggs, milk, dry mustard, salt, pepper and garlic. Pour this mixture over the cheese. Cover and put in fridge overnight (in the morning, if the mixture looks too dry add a splash more milk…).  When you are ready to cook, combine the soup and milk and spread over the top of the cheese. Cover and bake at 300 for 1 1/2 hours (I didn’t do this…I cooked it at 350 for an hour and it was fine…I didn’t see why it needed to be cooked so low….). 

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Casserole

  1. Julie

    I’m so glad you posted this – I was wanting to do something like this for Thanksgiving and couldn’t choose a recipe. I’ll try this next time!

    Reply
  2. J. Soine

    Julie! This is my “go-to-recipe” for potlucks and an easy family brunch.

    Thank you so much!

    Grandma Doreen Soine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

