Caribbean Black Beans

When I read this recipie I wasn’t expecting much. It looked like a basic recipie…but when I made them I could not believe how so little work could make SUCH a flavorful dish.  I couldn’t stop eating these.  This one is a keeper for sure. I got lots of request for these, even from people who don’t love beans.  Try this one at least once and you will be suprised. These can also be made a few days in advance and that is always the best kind of recipie to keep in the back of your books.

3 strips of bacon

1/2 c onion, diced (I buy the frozen diced onion in the frozen veggie section..perfect for recipies like this)

1/2 cup green bell pepper, seeded and diced

2 T. minced garlic

1 can (30 oz) black beans

1/2 c chicken broth

Saute bacon in a medium pot over medium heat.  When the bacon is crispy, remove from pan and crumble.  Drain most of the bacon grease, but save a few tablespoons to saute the veggies.   Add the green pepper and onion to the bacon grease and saute until the veggies are tender (about 6 or 7 minutes).  Add garlic and cook one more minute.  Add beans and broth and cook down for about 20 minutes. The beans should have some liquid in them, but not be “soupy”. If they are too “soupy”, just cook them

2 thoughts on “Caribbean Black Beans

  1. Sally

    I’ve been looking for a good black bean recipe since I had some really yummy ones in Vegas. Thanks!!!! These sound good. I’m gonna try ’em tomorrow.

    Reply
  2. bek

    Ok…Sally emailed me back and said that they were a hit!!

    I am going to post the hints that I gave her (or a way to make them taste a little bit better).

    I use the whole thing of bacon (not just three strips) and I used the chicken stock concentrate (it comes in a jar and is sold by the bullion cubes) and added a bit extra instead of chicken stock (more flavor). Sally added some cilantro at the end and I added shredded carrots (I already had it in the fridge) both were great.

    This is such a simple recipie and it has so much flavor… you will be happily suprised. :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

