Butterscotch Bubble Loaf

The first time I made this was a near-disaster. I followed the directions exactly, which included putting everything together at night and letting it sit on the counter to thaw and rise, then baking in the morning. I came into the kitchen Thanksgiving morning and found an eruption of bread dough everywhere. It was a mess, but we still baked it and it tasted great. When I ran into the Rhodes truck, the lady gave me a great tip to make it the night before, which I’ll include in the instructions below. When everything combines it comes out tasting like the yummiest carmel pull apart bread ever.


24 Rhodes rolls, thawed but still cold
½ small box non instant butterscotch pudding mix
½ cup chopped pecans
½ cup butter or margarine
½ cup brown sugar

Spray bundt pan with non-stick spray. Cut rolls in half and roll in dry pudding mix. Arrange in pan alternately with pecans. Sprinkle remaining pudding mix over top. Combine brown sugar and butter; heat together until butter is melted and a syrup is formed. Stir well. Pour syrup over rolls. Cover with sprayed plastic wrap.

Let rise until double in size or even with top of bundt pan. Remove wrap and bake at 350 for 30-35 minutes. Cover with foil the last 15 minutes of baking. Do not underbake. Immediately after baking, invert onto a serving platter.

(Note: I was told to use the rolls frozen, and barely thawed, and let the thing sit all night. The secret to having it ready early in the morning is to follow the directions as written above, BUT, as soon as the rolls have come even with the bundt pan – put the pan in the fridge, covered, overnight. Then all you have to do is bake as directed and it shaves a lot of time off an early breakfast!)

12 servings, each with 352 calories, 15 g fat, 51 g carbs, 6 g protein

picture above from recipegoldmine.com

6 thoughts on “Butterscotch Bubble Loaf

  1. bek

    I love Rhodes dough…but you can’t buy it here. Occasionally Albertsons will have it but most of the time no luck.

    We compensate by using the pop can biscut dough…..not quite the same.

    My mom calls this Monkey Bread. We also occasionally do this same recipie w/ butter and parmasean….. :-)

    Reply
  2. Camellia

    I just asked for this – was about to click of the site and realized I hadn’t looked at breakfast – so thank you for not even having to answer – I will try it again – thanks for the tip – maybe that is what went so horribly wrong with mine

    Reply
  3. Danielle

    This is a Family Tradition for our family. I make this and pop it in the fridge on Christmas Eve. In the morning I take it out to double in size and bake. The smell is wonderful, it can stop most of my kids during presents! TRY IT!

    Reply
  4. justbarefoot

    What are you talking about… the Rhodes Truck lady?? :)
    I’m totally trying this now that I found the recipe. I love google!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Butterscotch Bubble Loaf « Hot’n'Steamy

Leave a Reply

