Butterflake Rolls

A few weeks ago, at the Thanksgiving Point Farmer Market (ok, so that’s not really true – at the first one in August there was ONE farmer with produce, later weeks have had several more) the Rhodes Bread truck showed up.  I suckered up and bought a book – they were only $5, had tons of easy and quick recipes, and I wanted the official recipe for the famous Butterscotch Bubble Loaf.  Tonight, I tried a few butterflake rolls.  My husbands family has a favorite bakery in Bakersfield, CA, Smiths Bakery.  He said tonight that these are at least as good as Smiths, if not better.  

12 Rhodes Texas rolls, thawed but still cold
soft butter

(By the way, we used the normal sized dinner rolls and they were the perfect size.)
Spray muffin tins with non-stick cooking spray.  With scissors, make 4 or 5 deep cuts into each roll cutting nearly to the bottom.  Squeeze butter into each slice and place rolls in muffin cups.  Cover with sprayed plastic wrap.  Let rise until double in size.  Remove wrap and bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes.  Immediately place on cooling rack.

3 thoughts on “Butterflake Rolls

  1. bek

    Yum……….. it is a proven fact that the laws of nature that allow bread to rise and bake properly do not apply in my house. I stink at baking and I have tried and tried and tried.

    It is for this reason I LOVE Rhodes dough. I also take the dough and cut the rolls in half (or fourths) and bake them normally. Then I use them for things like baby showers or appetizers w/ egg salad, chicken salad, etc. It makes the perfect little bite of food. :-)

    I love these Rhodes recipies…now I don’t have to buy the book!

    Reply
  2. Camellia

    Julie – if you ever check here – I would love a recipie for Rhodes rolls that you place in a bundt pan – I tried one to no avail so maybe their book has something for me
    Thanks, Camellia (who is obsessed with bread and has taken to traveling to Berkley to pick up Great Harvest)

    Reply
  3. Danielle

    I LOVE Rhodes, there isn’t a better frozen dough out there. You will be amazed at how simple these rolls are to make, they turn out perfect everytime.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

