Bagels

IMG_0467

We’re in bagel making heaven here. Yesterday morning I saw this post as soon as I woke up and decided I’d try right away. They are SO easy and SO yummy.

In a bread maker, or kitchen aid or Bosch or whatever, combine:

1 cup warm water (I needed a bit more)
3 cups of bread flour
2 TBS white sugar
1 1/2 tsp. salt
2 1/4 tsp active dry yeast

If you’re using a breadmaker, set it to dough cycle. If you’re not, I’d knead well for about 10 minutes and let the dough rest about 45 minutes.

Then shape the dough into 8-10 balls, flatten, and poke holes. Let them rest for about 30-60 minutes.

First time making bagels. Seems easy, we'll see how they turn out!

Then you’ll boil a pot of water with 3T sugar to be ready when the bagels are done rising. Boil each bagel for 1 minute; 30 seconds on each side. We fit 3 bagels into our pot at a time.

Put the boiled bagels on an ungreased pan that is either sprinkled with 1T cornmeal, or use a silpat (which I did), and bake at 375 for 20 minutes, or until they look just browned enough.

Nathan and I just split a bagel fresh out of the oven and the verdict is in...they are great!! This is so fun! Tomorrow: raisin and cinnamon version. Oh I'm positively giddy.

They’re not beautiful, but they are delicious!

Our first batch of 8 was gone not long after the kids came home from school, so last night I made a second batch of raisin cinnamon. SO YUMMY! I added maybe 3/4 t cinnamon to the dough mixture at the very beginning, along with about 2 handfuls of raisins. It was perfect!

Leave a Reply

